Sign In Forgot Password

Student Rabbi

Beth Sholom Temple has a Student Rabbi this year!  Student Rabbi Ora Jacobsen, a  student at Hebrew Union College in New York, journeys to Fredericksburg one weekend a month from September 2022 through May 2023.  She leads Shabbat services and programs throughout the weekend.  Watch the calendar to see which weekends she will be here. 

Contact her at

Visiting Clergy

 Cantor Wendy Shermet, newly retired from Temple Israel in Omaha, NE,  makes the trek to Fredericksburg from New Hampshire to lead services and other programs throughout the year.  For the past three years, she has led our high holy day services.   

Rabbi Bruce Aft, formerly the spiritual leader of Adat Reyim in Springfield, VA, directs Beth Sholom's outreach program serving people working towards conversion to Judaism.  He also joins us for special occasions and events throughout the year. 

Lay Leadership

One of Beth Sholom Temple's strengths is its dedicated group of talented lay leaders. These volunteers lead Shabbat services and other events, chant Torah, deliver sermons, and provide musical accompaniment. This has enriched our opportunities for active learning and study, but more importantly for deep engagement in our liturgy and texts.   

Every Friday evening and Saturday morning, a minimum of three individuals are needed for the service -- a Service Leader, a Torah Reader, and a Zoom Producer.  Our Ritual Committee is always happy to train new Lay Leaders for BST and members are encouraged to participate in the program.  Please contact Allan Grady at if you are interested in a role in one of our services.  

Our Board of Directors for 2022-2023

President                    Jonathan Levin                            
VP Administration Larry Wilson
VP Community Life & Activities Ronda Young
VP Religious Life & Education Sabina Weitzman
VP Finance Laraine Whitcomb
Treasurer Ellen Grady
Recording Secretary Laura Rosenthal  
Corresponding Secretary  Michael Camber  
Sisterhood Representative Lisa Herman
At Large Members

Robert Miller
Alan Mindlin
David Coman
Tiina Rodrigue 


Board Meetings

Board of Directors meetings are held on the third Monday of the month at 7:30 pm on Zoom. Changes to this schedule are posted on the calendar and in the weekly email.  

Click here for Board Meetings on Zoom.

Everyone is welcome and encouraged to attend these meetings!  

Minutes from monthly meetings and committee reports for the current temple year (July 1 - June 30) are in the office. Minutes from prior years are in binders in the bookcase outside of the Library.

Sun, June 4 2023 15 Sivan 5783